BREAKING NEWS: INEC declares Obaseki winner of Edo governorship election


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Sunday declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and incumbent governor of Edo state, Godwin Obaseki, winner of the September 19 governorship election in the state.

He scored 307,955 votes to beat his closest rival Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Party (APC) who scored 223.619 votes.

Obaseki won 14 out of the 18 Local Government Areas in Edo state.

Fourteen parties fielded candidates for the election.

INEC announced that a total of 550,242 valid votes were cast in the election.

The announcement of the result elicited widespread jubilation across Edo state, especially in Benin, the state capital.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.