INEC’S hammer falls on 74 political parties


INEC Chairman, Prof. Yakubu: wielded the big stick

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Thursday deregistered 74 political parties in the country, citing their woeful performance in the 2019 general elections. 

Summit News reports that only 18 political parties, including the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), and the main opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP),  survived INEC sledgehammer.

It will be recalled that there has been groundswell of demands for the deregistration of some parties in order to pave way for a healthy political contest among the major political parties in the subsequent elections.

One of the reasons for the call was the fact that it gives the ruling party to always manipulate the process and the outcome of the election.

It is believed that the two-party system as practiced during the 1993 presidential election would be better for Nigeria’s political space now because politicians would either be in party A or B.

Ruling APC: No shaking

The INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, who announced the deregistration of the 74 political parties at a press conference in Abuja said the affected parties failed to meet various criteria stipulated by the constitution during the elections.

The INEC chairman said the number of Nigeria’s political parties is now 18.

The surviving parties are: . Accord Party, . Action Alliance AA,. African Action Congress AAC, . African Democratic Congress ADC, . African Democratic Party ADP,. All Progressives Congress APC,. All Progressives Grand Alliance APGA, . Allied Peoples’ Movement APM.

PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus: Party standing on solid ground

Others are: Labour Party LP, . New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP, . National Rescue Movement NRM,  Peoples Democratic Party PDP,. Peoples Redemption Party PRP, Social Democratic Party SDP,. Young Progressive Party YPP.. Zenith Labour Party ZLP,Action Peoples Party APP,18. Boot Party BT,

It would be recalled that the National Assembly recently amended the constitution to allow INEC deregister political parties on the following grounds:

 “Breach of any of the requirements for registration as a party, failure to win at least 25% of the votes cast in one state in a presidential election or 25% of the votes cast in one local government area, and failure to win at least one ward in a chairmanship election, one seat in the national or state assembly election or one seat in a councillorship election.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.