Governor Abubakar Sani Bello

Niger state, the largest state in Nigeria, was created on February 3, 1976, with Minna as the capital.

Other major cities in the state are Bida, Kontagora and Suleja.

It is one of the states controlled by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), with Abubakar Sani Bello, as the executive governor. 

Governor Bello first assumed office on May 29, 2015, and was re-elected for a second term in office on March 9, 2019.

Niger state, popularly known as the “Power State,” is home to former military President Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida, and ex-head of state, Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar (retd.)

The Nupe, Gbagyi, Kamuku, Kambari, Dukawa, Hausa and Koro, form the numerous indigenous tribes of the state.

Map of Niger State

The state was named after the River Niger.  It houses two of Nigeria’s major hydro-electric power stations – the Kainji Dam, and the Shiroro Dam.

Furthermore, the famous Gurara Falls is in Niger state. Also located in the state are the Kainji National Park – the largest National Park in Nigeria, the Borgu Game Reserve and the Zugurma Game Reserve.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.